

1

Relative to commending and congratulating the Guam Contractors Association upon its celebration of its Forty-Fifth (45<sup>th</sup>) Anniversary.

1	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I
2	MINA 'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:
3	WHEREAS, the Guam Contractors Association ("GCA") was
4	incorporated on November 5, 1959; and
5	WHEREAS, the GCA was founded by Mr. J. T. Cook, Mr. T. H. Odell,
6	Mr. Frank D. Perez, Mr. D. S. Lennox, Mr. E. C. Forslund, Mr. John E. Russel
7	and Mr. Hugh M. Mize; and

1

1 WHEREAS, the GCA provides representation for contractors and 2 construction-related businesses, and promotes a strict adherence to an ever 3 higher standard of construction, quality workmanship and safety; and

4 WHEREAS, the membership at the GCA has grown from the original 5 seven (7) members to two hundred fifty-five (255) members; and

6 WHEREAS, in 1962, the GCA initiated an Apprentice Training Program
7 to educate people on Guam; and

8 WHEREAS, the current program is now co-sponsored by the Guam 9 Community College; and

WHEREAS, in a 1979 landmark case, the GCA assisted in delaying the
implementation of the Federally-mandated "adverse-effect" wage rate on
Guam; and

WHEREAS, Standing Committees have been established in the areas of
Professional and Community Affairs; Education and Training; Government
Affairs and Labor; and in Safety; and

WHEREAS, the Board of Directors of the GCA are: President, Ms. 16 Karen M. Storts of Reaction Company; Vice-President, Mr. Tom Anderson of 17 Black Construction Corporation; Secretary-Treasurer, Mr. Jere Johnson of 18 19 Hawaiian Rock Products; and its Directors include: Mr. John Robertson of AmOrient Contracting; Mr. Bill Beery of J. A. Jones Management Systems, 20 21 Inc.; Mr. Robert Salas of Landscape Management Systems, Inc.; Mr. Miguel Rangel of Maeda Pacific Corporation; Mr. Tom Perez of Perez Bros., Inc.; and 22 Mr. Steve Radonich of Smithbridge, Guam; and its Associate Directors are: 23 Mr. Adam Baron of Cassidy's Associated Insurers, Inc.; Mr. Frank Flores of 24

Morrico Equipment, LLC; Mr. Paul Blas of Seabridge, Inc.; and Mr. Allan
 Turner of Taniguchi-Ruth Architects; and

ł

WHEREAS, the Executive Director of the Association is Mr. James
Martinez; and its Assistants are Office Manager, Ms. Annmarie Pelobello and
Administrative Assistant, Ms. Joleen Meno; and

6 WHEREAS, the GCA joined the Associated Builders and Contractors in 7 1994, thereby gaining the expertise of a national network of contractors, as 8 well as receiving recognition from that group for members' Excellence in 9 Construction Award-winning projects and Safety Training Evaluation 10 Programs; and

- WHEREAS, since 1996, GCA has sponsored the Island-Wide Safety
  Conference every year to promote better awareness of OSHA regulations and
  employee safety in both construction and general industry; and
- WHEREAS, GCA members provided monetary, labor, and equipment
  contributions to assist in typhoon recovery after Typhoons *Paka*, *Chata'an and Pongsona*; and

WHEREAS, goals for the Association are to increase legislative support
for its members, educate members on major issues, and provide networking
tools for members of the same industry to exchange ideas; now, therefore, be
it

RESOLVED, that the Executive Committee of *I Mina'Bente Ocho Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of Guam, commend and congratulate the Guam Contractors

3

Association on the occasion of its Forty-Fifth (45<sup>th</sup>) Anniversary; and be it
 further

**RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive 3 Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption 4 5 hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Ms. Karen M. Storts, President of the Guam Contractors Association; to Mr. Tom Anderson, 6 Vice-President; to Mr. Jere Johnson, Secretary-Treasurer; to the Directors, Mr. 7 John Robertson, Mr. Bill Beery, Mr. Robert Salas, Mr. Miguel Rangel, Mr. Tom 8 9 Perez and Mr. Steve Radonich; to the Associate Directors, Mr. Adam Baron, Mr. Frank Flores, Mr. Paul Blas, and Mr. Allan Turner; to the Executive 10 Director, Mr. James Martinez; to the Office Manager, Ms. Annmarie Pelobello; 11 to the Administrative Assistant, Ms. Joleen Meno; and to the Honorable Felix 12 13 P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

## DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF *I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE $20^{TH}$ DAY OF JANUARY 2005.

MARK FORBES Speaker and Chairman, Executive Committee EDWARD J.B. CALVO Senator and Secretary of the Legislature